Record breaking weather – bright sun, dry, clear blue skies low tide along the long stretch of beautiful east coast – perfect build up for Beach Cricket and Sports, yes, it is Ireland!  Ninth annual Beach Cricket festival was held on Saturday, 7th July at Bettystown-Laytown beaches. Record number of people attended the event and enjoyed the beach. Yet another successful, entertaining and competitive Beach Cricket festival saw total number of 15 teams participating in the tournament including 3 women team.  All teams travelled from across from Meath, Dublin, Wicklow, Louth and Wexford along with family to take full advantage of the weather.  Team consisted mix of nationalities including Irish, Indians, Sri Lankans, English, Pakistan, Bangladesh and Nepal.  Ireland’s recent promotion into full test playing status, generated lot of interest in beach cricket audience.

After guaranteed three match league round, Dundalk rockers, Dublin Super Kings, Desi Boys and Bengaluru Bulls qualified for knock out stage.  It was nail biting finish to table toppers as five teams finished with 4 points leaving the net run rate (NRR) maths to work out their position on the table.

Team Name (Mens)   Played Won Lost Tie Points NRR
Dundalk Rockers Q 3 3 0 0 6 1.267
Dublin Super Kings Q 3 2 1 0 4 0.997
Desi Boys Q 3 2 1 0 4 0.587
Bengaluru Bulls Q 3 2 1 0 4 0.402
Drogheda Rangers 3 2 1 0 4 0.031
Telugu Tigers 3 2 1 0 4 -0.268
Maratha Warriors 3 1 1 1 3
Sri Lankan Lions 3 1 2 0 2
Badlapur 3 1 2 0 2
HSBC 3 1 2 0 2
Game Changers 3 0 2 1 1
Skull Crushers 3 0 3 0 0

Two times finalist Drogheda Rangers missed out marginally to qualify on net run rate.  Dundalk Rockers and Bengaluru Bulls moved on to final clash after beating Desi Boys and Dublin Super Kings respectively. In the finals Bengaluru team scored 87 runs in 5 overs.  Unbeaten Dundalk Rockers changed the target comfortably in 4.3 overs to claim Beach Cricket 2018 Championship title.

There was lots of excitement, thrill, fun and nail biting moment on women’s cricket clash between three teams.

Team Name (Womens)   Played Won Lost Tie Points
SL Pearls 2 2 0 0 4
Tamil Girls 2 1 1 0 2
Mumbai Girls 2 0 2 0 0

SL Pearls after beating both teams won the Beach Cricket 2018 championship title.

After the cricket it was time for Beach Race as the high tides moving in. The day ended with Beach Race, over 25 Men, Women and Children participated in Beach Race in Men, Women and Children category –  an energetic cheerful finish to a brilliant day of cricket.   All together it was great day for players, family and children all around in the beach.  The organisers – UNITAS would like to thank Sponsors (Premier Insurances), Beach Management Committee, Sandcastle team, Meath East Community Association, East Math First Responders, Meath County Council, Supporters, Volunteers and all the players for their support and enthusiasm to make this event a great success.